This morning, Sega and Delightworks pulled the curtains back on their big mystery titles. The two publishers hosted dueling live streams, which were slated for 20:00 JST (7:00AM EDT / 4:00AM PDT), with Sega slated to pull all the out all the stops for Project B.L.A.C.K., while DelightWorks was set to show off Project “Nippon Dakkan”.

As the clock reached the hour, the streams kicked off, with both streams opening with a 22-second teaser, which confirmed confirming that the two projects were one and the same: a mobile RPG titled Sakura Kakumei: Hanasaku Otome-tachi (Sakura Revolution: Maidens In Bloom).

Sakura Revolution Game Logo

The teaser cut to a 22-minute anime film, which introduced the main cast of Sakura Revolution, while setting up the basic plot premise that places the plot into the hundredth year of the Taisho era.

Sakura Revolution ONA Still - A woman with a pink coat and long black hair stands before a window. Her arms are folder as her face shows a look of disdain.

The film was followed immediately by a talk show, which featured a panel of guests, including:

  • Moeka Kishimoto (voice of Sakura Shino)
  • Ayu Matsuura (voice of Fuka Aoshima)
  • Kohei Tanaka (Sakura Wars composer)
  • Taku Kihara (Sega Producer)
  • Hikaru Okamura (DelightWorks Producer)

As the panel discussed the characters and basic premise behind the series, and official websiteofficial website and Twitter account for Sakura Revolution opened their doors to the world, along with a new trailer, character and plot information, and details on the title’s upcoming launch.

Net Anime

This 22-minute feature, which was produced by Cloverworks, provides the initial plot beats, and sets up the conflict between the new Imperial Combat Revue and the forces of the Great Imperial Combat Revue B.L.A.C.K. (B.L.A.C.K., henceforth)


Introduction Trailer

The 30-second teaser sees Shino Sakura and Prana Tosei preparing to square off on the field of battle.

Gameplay Trailer

The 90-second teaser introduces the core gameplay of the title, while theme song SAKURA HIKARU Revolution plays as a background track. The trailer reveals several new characters, both from the Imperial Combat Revue and B.L.A.C.K.



Photo of a PowerPoint slide that reads "Taisho 100", and features a drawing of a department store.

Sakura Revolution is set in an alternate version of Tokyo, in the year Taisho 100 (2011 CE). In the year Taisho 84 (1995 CE), disaster struck the capital in a calamity known as the Great Imperial Capital Disaster. The nation was able to rebuild and recover, thanks to the discovery of a new energy based on spiritual power, known only as Mirai.

Sadly, with the activation of the New Imperial Tower, the cherry blossoms stopped blooming. Moreover, demons known as “Koki” began to increase in number, lashing out to attack people across the nation. To protect the people, the government formed the Great Imperial Combat Revue B.L.A.C.K., who protect the people from evil while bringing light to their hearts with unmatched live performances.

A young woman with short, dark hair, clad in a pink kimono and hakama focuses as she holds a sword.

While peace reigns among the people thanks to Mirai and B.L.A.C.K. and many have put their trust in the government, some have come to realize that it is but a false prosperity.

These brave souls are known as the Imperial Combat Revue, and their mission  is to uncover the government’s conspiracy and retake Japan!


The confirmed voice cast includes:

Imperial Combat Revue

  • Shino Sakura (CV: Moeka Kishimoto)
  • Fuka Aoshima (CV: Ayu Matsuura)
  • Asebi Mikohama (CV: Yuko Natsuyoshi)

Great Imperial Combat Revue BLACK

  • Prana Tosei (CV: Lynn)
  • Meisa Akashi (CV: Ami Koshimizu)
  • Kurumi Saimei (CV: Nao Tōyama)


  • Yoshitaka Oishi (CV: Kotaro Nishiyama)
  • Nadeshiko Sakura (CV: Rie Tanaka)
  • Kirin Aoshima (CV: Mika Doi)


The Imperial Combat Revue’s debut solo, SAKURA HIKARU Revolution, will feature music by Sakura Wars composer Kohei Tanaka. Aki Hata wrote the lyrics, while Kenta Higashioji handled the arrangement.

Still of a Sakura Revolution Slide, which details the staff for themes ong SAKURA HIKARU Revolution

Previously, the song Wonderful Future by B.L.A.C.K. was revealed in a music video by Sega. The song was also composed by Kohei Tanaka, with Aki Hata writing the lyrics and Kenta Higashioji handling arrangements.


Sakura Revolution is billed as a Dramatic RPG, with strategic battles and dialogue components. According to screenshots on the Apple and Google Play storefronts, the title will implement the LIPS dialogue system.

Sakura Revolution Gameplay still which depicts a dialogue choice. A timer reading "LIPS TIME" counts down at the top of the screen.

Sakura Revolution Gameplay Still


The game is slated to launch on iOS and Android on October 28, with Sega listed as a publisher. The title will be free to start, with in-app purchases planned.

According to the iTunes store, the game will be 269.5MB and contains the following content warnings:

  • Rare/Mild radical language or vulgar humor
  • Rare/Mild Anime or Fantasy Violence
  • Rare/Mild Horror or Fear theme
  • Rare/Mild sexual expression or nudity
  • Infrequent/Mild Alcohol, Tobacco, Drug Use or Mention



The game will be compatible with iPads, iPhones, and iPod Touch units that run iOS 11.0 or higher.


Sakura Revolution will run on devices that are running Android 5.1 or higher, though devices using Intel CPUs will not be supported.

Launch Campaigns

Sega is planning ten pre-launch campaigns for Sakura Revolution. To date, the publisher has revealed an RT contest, which they are performing in collaboration with Coca Cola, as well as a pre-registration campaign. If the game is able to earn 300,000 pre-registrations, players will receive 30 Gacha Spirit Water items, in addition to a 20-day “Start Dash” launch login campaign. In all, players will be able to earn up to 50 rewards in the game’s first month on the market, in ideal conditions.


Other Links