Earlier today, Sega hosted a live streaming event for Sakura Revolution: Maidens In Bloom (Sakura Kakumei: Hanasaku Otome-tachi). During the show, the publisher showed off two new story trailers for the game. One trailer, which runs for 75 seconds, focuses on the Great Imperial Combat Revue B.L.A.C.K. (B.L.A.C.K., henceforth). The second teaser has a two-and-a-half minute runtime and focuses on the New Imperial Combat Revue.

During the presentation, the two trailers were shown in sequence with no interruption.


The teaser opens with Prana Tosei talking with a mysterious figure (presumably Tokihisa Kira), who discusses the nature of Imperial Combat Revue project, as well as B.L.A.C.K. specifically. The teaser cuts to Prana facing off against Sakura Nadeshiko, stating that the former diva is to be purged for violating “Article 1 of the Imperial Law for Peace Preservation”

Imperial Combat Revue

The teaser opens with Sakura Nadeshiko, entrusting the future of the Imperial Combat Revue to new commander Yoshitaka Oishi, explaining that the “child he must meet” is on the island of Aogashima. She urges the new commander to “Recapture the Imperial Combat Revue from Kira and bring about its true revival.”

The teaser cuts to Shino Sakura, who takes over as narrator. She explains that she wishes to follow in her mother’s footsteps to become a great actress.

The teaser then cuts to flyovers of location stills, as Fuka Aoshima’s grandmother explains that the team will need to travel across Japan to retrieve nine spiritual artifacts, in order to revive a pair of holy blades.

In addition to artwork of landmarks, the teaser features stills of Sakura’s Reiken-Arataka sword, buried in a mound of rock.

A third promotional event is planned for October 21. Kohei Tanaka will serve as a guest host.

About Sakura Revolution

Sakura Revolution is a mobile RPG that’s being developed by Delightworks (Fate/Grand Order). The title was originally announced via two dueling projects: Sega’s Project B.L.A.C.K. and Delightworks’ Nippon Dakkan, before both were revealed to be one and the same during a live streaming event on September 2, 2020.

According to the iOS App Store, Sakura Revolution will launch on October 28.

The Plot

Sakura Revolution is set in an alternate version of Tokyo, in the year Taisho 100 (2011 CE). In the year Taisho 84 (1995 CE), disaster struck the capital in a calamity known as the Great Imperial Capital Disaster. The nation was able to rebuild and recover, thanks to the discovery of a new energy based on spiritual power, known only as Mirai.

Sadly, with the activation of the New Imperial Tower, the cherry blossoms stopped blooming. Moreover, demons known as “Koki” began to increase in number, lashing out to attack people across the nation. To protect the people, the government formed the Great Imperial Combat Revue B.L.A.C.K., who protect the people from evil while bringing light to their hearts with unmatched live performances.

While peace reigns among the people thanks to Mirai and B.L.A.C.K. and many have put their trust in the government, some have come to realize that it is but a false prosperity.

These brave souls are known as the Imperial Combat Revue, and their mission is to uncover the government’s conspiracy and retake Japan!

The Cast

The confirmed voice cast includes:

  • Shino Sakura (CV: Moeka Kishimoto)
  • Fuka Aoshima (CV: Ayu Matsuura)
  • Asebi Mikohama (CV: Yuko Natsuyoshi)
  • Prana Tosei (CV: Lynn)
  • Meisa Akashi (CV: Ami Koshimizu)
  • Kurumi Saimei (CV: Nao Tōyama)
  • Yoshitaka Oishi (CV: Kotaro Nishiyama)
  • Nadeshiko Sakura (CV: Rie Tanaka)
  • Kirin Aoshima (CV: Mika Doi)

The Songs

The Imperial Combat Revue’s debut solo, SAKURA HIKARU Revolution, will feature music by Sakura Wars composer Kohei TanakaAki Hata wrote the lyrics, while Kenta Higashioji handled the arrangement.

B.L.A.C.K.’s debut solo, Wonderful Future  was also composed by Kohei Tanaka, with Aki Hata writing the lyrics and Kenta Higashioji handling arrangements.


Other Links